Tuesday, 8 June 2010

Wroxham Barns – British Minigolf Championships Results

Tim Davies from Hastings (pictured taking his last putt) won the 2010 British Minigolf Championships on Sunday, June 6 at Wroxham Barns, coming top of a field of 27 golfers, with a total of 231 shots over seven rounds.

Mr Davies won the championships by one shot from Nick Chitty. It is Mr Davies’ third British Championships win and his 8th major in 10 years on the circuit, a record for a British minigolfer. Tim Davies also took home the Seniors title.

Nicky Chitty won last year’s English Open, staged at Wroxham Barns. He equalled his course record of 29 today, set during the English Open. Peter Parr also equalled the course record.

Adam Kelly from Cambridge won the Wroxham Barns trophy for best East Anglian golfer and Helen Heald from Nottingham was best novice.

Tim Davies said: “It is the first time that I have played the Wroxham Barns course. It is very challenging, but most of the holes can be aced (holes in one) by top golfers. I am really pleased to have won the title here in what was a very close competition.”

Sean Homer, Chairman of the British Minigolf Association, who came fourth in the competition, said: “It has been a pleasure to return to Wroxham Barns and stage a major. It is a brilliant course and plays fantastically. I would like to thank everyone here for their wonderful hospitality.”

http://www.minigolf.org.uk, http://www.wroxhambarns.co.uk