Wednesday, 21 March 2012

Norfolk – The Great Outdoors at Easter

River trips, walking, cycling, bird watching, horseracing, exploring stately homes and their gardens, lamb feeding, and heritage railways– Norfolk is packed with great ideas for the Easter Holidays.

“We are looking forward to a very busy Easter,” said Lydia Smith, Director, Norfolk Tourism. “Norfolk with its endless skies is the place to enjoy the great outdoors. Easter is the perfect time to get out and about and go walking on our miles of sandy beaches or explore one of our 440 open historic churches. Try boating, canoeing, cycling and sailing in the Broads. Then there’s the North Norfolk Coast for birdwatching fans. In addition to all this there are many other indoor and outdoor attractions to visit. ”

Here is a selection of Norfolk’s Easter offerings:
 Explore the North Norfolk Coast and the Norfolk Coast Footpath using the CoastHopper bus www.coasthopper.co.uk.
 Ride The Bittern Line from Norwich to Sheringham and hop off at intermediate stations for a circular walk www.bitternline.com/walks2.htm.
 Visit RSPB Titchwell Marsh www.rspb.org.uk or Norfolk Wildlife Trust’s Cley Marshes www.norfolkwildlifetrust.org.uk.
 Go cycling around Thetford Forest www.forestry.gov.uk/highlodge or the Broads www.thebroadsbybike.org.uk.
 Visit Wretham Lodge, East Wretham and Desert World Gardens, Santon Downham, both gardens open in aid of the National Gardens Scheme on April 8 and 9, www.ngs.org.uk.
 Enjoy racing on Easter Monday, April 9 at Great Yarmouth Racecourse, www.greatyarmouth-racecourse.co.uk and Fakenham Racecourse www.fakenhamracecourse.co.uk .
 Feed the lambs at Junior Farm Wroxham Barns www.wroxhambarns.co.uk or see the sheep milking at Bircham Windmill www.birchamwindmill.co.uk.
 Enjoy Great Yarmouth’s Golden Mile and stop off at the Pleasure Beach www.pleasure-beach.co.uk or Merrivale Model Village www.greatyarmouthmodelvillage.co.uk.
 Take a river trip in Norwich on City Boats www.cityboats.co.uk or on the Broads at Wroxham with Broads Tours www.broadstours.co.uk.
 Take part in the ‘Busy Bird I Spy Week’ at Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden from March 31 to April 7, www.fairhavengarden.co.uk, Strumpshaw Fen Easter Egg-splorers (April 5) www.rspb.org.uk, Pensthorpe Nature Reserve’s Easter Eggstravaganser (March 31-April 15) www.pensthorpe.com or take the Bure Valley Railway’s Easter Eggspress, April 6 to 9, www.bvrw.co.uk.

Indoor Ideas
 Visit The Queen’s Sandringham House in west Norfolk and enjoy this year’s special exhibition – Faithful Companions, www.sandringhamestate.co.uk.
 Clive Webb and Danny Adams return to Great Yarmouth’s Hippodrome Circus with ‘Circus Hilarious, Rockin’ With Laughter’, April 6 – 12, www.hippodromecircus.co.uk.
 See Japan Kingdom of Characters at the Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts, Norwich (to 24 June) www.scva.ac.uk or view Titian’s masterpiece Diana and Actaeon at Norwich Castle Museum and Gallery (to 15 April), www.museums.norfolk.gov.uk.
 Visit one of Norfolk’s 440 open historic churches www.norfolkopenchurches.com.

Norfolk Tourism is the county's established public and private industry partnership. Funded by its 55 partner organisations, the partnership is designed to act as a forum for all Norfolk's tourism businesses and local authorities, www.visitnorfolk.co.uk, tel. 01603 222846. See our free to use 2012 image library at www.visitnorfolk.co.uk/information/media-image-library.aspx.